www.hoosfootball.com is not affiliated with or endorsed by the University of Virginia.
All photographs on this site  are the property of the respective copyright owners. They
are presented here solely for educational and/or editorial purposes and may not be
reproduced for any other purpose.
Copyright © 2008   www.hoosfootball.com   All Rights Reserved
Logan Spangler (2009)
Javanti Sparrow (2009)
Kyle McCartin (2008)
Ryan Weigand (2005-2007)
Kurt Korte (2004)
David de Laureal (2002-2003)
Tavon Mason (1998-2001)
Keith Kobyra (1999)
Dan Ellis (1997)
Rafael Garcia (1993-1996)
Josh Schrader (1992-1993)
Keith McMeans (1986-1990)
Brian Haley (1989)
Ron Henderson (1985-1986)
Hoo Wore it Best? #16 - Rafael Garcia
I fully admit to having a little bit of heartburn over choosing a kicker
here.  However, Garcia was a bona fide offensive weapon on some of
the best UVa teams in recent memory.  Garcia lettered all four seasons
from 1993-1996, and is fourth on UVa's all-time scoring list,
sandwiched between Gene Mayer and Thomas Jones.  Garcia was
Virginia's leading scorer in 1994, when his 85 points led the entire
ACC, and again in 1996. Garcia's 18 points against Virginia Tech in
1994 are the most ever scored in a game by a Virginia kicker, and his
56-yard field goal in the 1995 win over Texas is tied for the longest FG
in UVa history. Most impressively, Garcia was selected to the All-ACC
three times (1994 – Honorable Mention, 1995 – 1st Team, 1996 – 2nd
Also Receiving Consideration:  Keith McMeans led UVa in interceptions three times (1987, 1988,
and 1990), and he holds the Virginia record for most interceptions in a game (three), season (nine)
and career (17).  As a freshman in 1987, McMeans' nine interceptions led the entire nation.  
McMeans was voted 2nd Team All-ACC in 1988, and he is tied for fourth on the ACC's all-time
interception list.
Tim Conway (1985)
Phil Rogers (1984-1985)
Rich Riccardi (1979-1983)
Don Ervine (1981)
John Banks (1978)
Keith WItherspoon (1974)
Bill Kettunen (1969-1971)
Allen Abel (1964-1965)
Patrick McSweeney (1962-1963)
Wayne Ballard (1958)
William Clarke (1956)
Alfred Berkeley (1936-1937)
Harry Tolin (1935)
Bledsoe Pinkerton (1928)
Players Who Have Worn #16:
Random Musings